Yes!!! There is a lot of buzz on information security, like is our company secure in terms of Information security?, How can we check?, is there a Checklist?, what are the information security criteria?, Etc. Solution for this brainstorming would be simple basics of ISO 27001.

ISO 27001 Certification

What is ISO 27001 Certification?

ISO 27001 standard stands for Information Security Management System (ISMS), it gives a specification for information security, it’s the basic framework of a set of policies, practice & procedure that include a regulatory requirement, Physical, Technical & administrative controls. When we speak about controls, we can simply classify it under three ways along with the department responsible for it;



Dept Responsible


Physical or Admin controls

Admin or facility manager

Locks, Alarm systems, Video surveillance 

Digital or Technical controls

IT Support or IT Manager


Administrative controls

Human Resource or Management Heads


What are the simple steps to Implement IT security, Is there an ISO 27001-ISMS Checklist?

Yes!!, there are number of ISMS checklists which you can download for reference. Also, you can reach out to our CertPro professionals for ISMS Checklists.

Based on our research which are generally practiced by top companies, we have simplified the standard to 7 steps and they are;

Step 1: Identify the key areas of the organization.

Step 2: Classify information simply as Confidential, Internal, and public.

Step 3: Define the access for the above and identify the risk involved with it.

Step 4: Invest your resource on securing the most valuable assets and confidential information by selecting the right controls.

Step 5: Monitor controls implemented.

Step 6: Define your back-ups as a Business Continuity Plan. 

Step 7: Conduct multiple iterations of audits to narrow down the process.

What are the areas of control for ISO 27001 ISMS & what does ISMS clauses mean?

There are 10 clauses in ISO 27001:2013 version and they represent; Clause 1 to Clause 3 are non-auditable clause and clause 4 to clause 10 are auditable clauses. All areas of control are explained under clause 4 to clause 10.

Clause 1- Scope

Clause 2- Normative reference                   Non-Auditable clause

Clause 3- Terms & definition

Clause 4- Context of organization- Organization context, the scope of work, needs 7 expectations of interested parties, Need of ISMS, management commitment towards implementing ISMS.

Clause 5- Leadership- defining roles & responsibility, defining ISMS policy, Commitments for implementing ISMS, a person (CISO- Chief Information Security Officer) or a team (Core Team) to look after all ISMS activity.

Clause 6- Planning – ISMS objectives (Setting short term and long term goals) and plan to achieve those objectives.

Clause 7- Support – Identify the resources, Train your team on ISMS, Evaluate the skills and knowledge of the current system and requirement. Define the internal and external communications, documentation management system.

Clause 8- Operations – Core business activity and planning to achieve, Risk identification while planning & choose the appropriate methodology to treat the risk.

Clause 9- Performance evaluation- Verify, Validate, analysis, Internal audits and management review meetings.

Clause 10- Improvement- Identifying the Areas to be improved, prioritizing & finding the corrective actions, Setting new objectives and goals for the continual improvement.

Annex A is a reference control objectives and controls

ISO 27001 Certification

So what is Annex A? Is Annex A and Statement of Applicability (SOA) the same? What does it say?

Annex A is also known as Statement of Applicability (SOA).   

A5– Polices for ISMS (Administrative Controls- ISMS policy)

A6– Organization commitment for Information Security (Administrative Controls – Internal duties, Mobile device policies, etc.)

A7– Human Resource security-  on before hiring, during tenure and after exit (Administrative controls- Non Disclosure Agreement, Back Ground verification, etc.)

A8– Asset management (Administrative, Physical and Technical controls – Asset responsibility, Classify, label & data handling & disposal)

A9– Limitation on Access (Administrative, Physical and Technical controls – Access Control Policy, User management, Access Responsibility, System & application-level access controls)

A10– Cryptography (Technical control – Policy and key management)

A11– Physical security (Admin controls – Locks, Barriers, surveillance camera, Asset security, etc.)

A12– Operation Security (Administrative, Physical and Technical controls – Document controls, Software & Applications controls, Backups and Logging, Vulnerability Assessment and Penetration Testing VAPT)

A13– Security on Communication (Administrative, Physical and Technical controls- Internal & external Network segregation control, security on sharing data within the network, etc.)

A14– Security on development & the core system (Administrative, Physical and Technical controls- Engineering principles, trusted applications, Test criteria, Back up plans, roll-back procedure, etc.)

A15– Vendor Management (Administrative, Physical and Technical controls- Vendor agreements, Service level agreements, Operational level agreements, Information security in supplier relationship, Response & resolution time, delivery principles, etc.

A16– Incident Management (Administrative, Physical and Technical controls- Procedure, responsibility, Awareness and Disaster management, etc.)

A17– Business Continuity Management (Administrative, Physical and Technical controls- Plan, implement, review & availability)

A18– Compliance (Administrative, Physical and Technical controls- Legal, NDA, Customer agreement, third party audits inputs and output review, administrative and technical compliance)

Now you have the above items as a reference, what to implement, which area to address for information security. You can always reach out to CertPro, our team been technically implementing ISO 27001 and are happy to assist you with implementing, guide you by providing sufficient knowledge and templates.

Who can have ISO 27001? What is the current version? Is there any revision, if so when will it be?

Organizations operating on a huge amount of data and security of this data is their primary concern than ISO 27001 is the basement. Some of the major sectors are Banking for securing their customer financial data and other company transactions, Hospitals- for securing their patient’s health data & other methodology of treatment,  Software product & service-based companies, Government Offices as most of the individual’s data is processed and stored, etc.

ISO 27001 latest version is 2013, Last reviewed in 2019 and confirmed to hold the same as the 2013 version.


As there been a revision in 2019, further reviews and updates usually take on a yearly basis. Major changes are identified and the standard will be revised and released, 2024-25 is the expectation of new release of the standard.

Get In Touch 

have a question? let us get back to you.